Skip to content

Reverse Graffiti and Global Warming

23 October 2007

A friend pointed me to a blog post about reverse graffiti, and yesterday on my stroll back from the Farmer’s market, I saw an artist putting the final touches on his piece of an installation known as “The Wall.”

Perhaps I’m the only one, but I didn’t watch An Inconvenient Truth and to be honest, I don’t really care to. Congrats to the filmmaker on his many accolades, but climate issues aren’t really hitting the top of my list of things to be passionate about. Maybe I’m being short-sighted, but I am more concerned about the problems we are currently facing rather than the ones that will haunt me in my 40s and beyond.

That said, I was really struck by the reverse graffiti artist in Brazil, as well as by the Salamat piece at “The Wall.” I was reminded how some art can really move me. The point of the reverse graffiti is clear. And, the artist who painted the Salamat piece has a great idea known as the Smile Boston Project – a way to encourage a bit more happiness via random smiles to strangers. I guess what I’m trying to say in this post is I like art that makes me think about things. What the movie couldn’t do, reverse graffiti hath done.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mac permalink
    24 October 2007 1:51 am

    I’ve tried the random smiles at strangers thing. Pepper spray stings.

Trackbacks

  1. An inconvenient person « Carol and Gabi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

