Skip to content

‘$100 laptop’ to sell to public – give one, get one

24 September 2007

BBC news reported that the $100 laptop, designed for sale to developing countries, is (a) no longer $100 and (b) available for those in developed countries to purchase. Both durable and simple, the waterproof computer has several powering options. An additional article further describes the features of the cute little green and white laptop.

Starting November 12th, US residents have the opportunity to get one for themselves and have one sent to a child in a developing country. To learn more about the company behind the software development visit the One Laptop Per Child (OLPC) website.

I think I would buy one if that meant a child that otherwise wouldn’t have access to a computer can also get one. But I would like to know:

1. What exactly is the process for distributing these computers. Who exactly gets priority? (If i had more time I’d explore this more, but I am on my lunch break and the internet is slow)

2. Would you buy one?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 September 2007 7:06 am

    As for would I buy one – my friend and I were actually chatting about the green laptops yesterday because we were hoping to get some donated to the non-profit he directs in Malawi. I would certainly buy one if I could direct where it went, and his non-profit qualified.

    One thing I wondered though – could we also purchase/donate some of these laptops to be used at the university? I expect the laptops would get even more use if in the hands of university students vs. primary school students, but since this was not the original intention of OLPC, I’m skeptical OLPC folks would let that fly. But, they ARE students and they ARE in developing countries.

  2. Cindy permalink
    14 October 2007 5:43 pm

    I don’t know about these laptops being used for students university…I thought they were ergonomically designed for children? I think they should manufacture another generation of these laptops in adult sizes (next there will be a S, M, L sizing chart for laptops) because I agree, university students would benefit from these laptops more than children.

Leave a Reply

