Skip to content

Guest lecture on AIDS in Africa – tips?

14 November 2007
tags:
by

I have been invited to give a guest lecture on AIDS in Africa for a Medical Ethics course at Boston University later this month. I am in the throes of creating my slide deck, an outline for the students [including further reading references in case they are interested in learning more about the topic], and whatever it is I can say in only 50 minutes. My main goal is to demonstrate that though I’m there to talk about AIDS in Africa that (1) AIDS is a global problem and (2) Africa is too complex a place to do justice in one lecture the nature of even a single pressing public policy issue faced by many nations on the continent.

The outline [as it stands today]:

  1. Background on HIV/AIDS
  2. The epidemic in Africa
  3. HIV/AIDS interventions
  4. Antiretroviral therapy: how do we choose who gets treatment?
  5. PEPFAR: funding faith-based organizations and promoting abstinence/fidelity prevention programs

Essentially, I begin with background and then proceed to two case study applications for medical ethics.
I am soliciting you all for ideas. Anything particularly interesting you think should be included in the presentation? Think like an undergrad – any YouTube clips or other new media offerings? What about further reading references: any that you like and think undergrads would appreciate? Better ideas on what to present? Even general tips on what to do/what not to do?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 15 November 2007 8:39 pm

    here’s a link Chava sent me via Google Chat:

    AIDS in Africa Advert from MSF

    The imagery is powerful… and I think it will definitely tug at the heartstrings of the sentimentalists. I think if I include it though, I’ll probably save it for the end. Thoughts?

  2. Audrey permalink
    19 November 2007 1:06 am

    What about beginning segment of A Closer Walk for AIDS is a global problem?

  3. Erica permalink
    20 November 2007 11:00 pm

    Kaiser just launched a new video library on global health. I have not had time to look at it in depth, but you might be able to find something useful.

    http://www.globalhealthreporting.org/videolibrary.asp

    I will keep searching…

Leave a Reply

