Skip to content

Tips for Teaching Typing in Malawi?

21 April 2008

Thanks to a generous fellowship from Sara’s Wish Foundation, I will be able to teach a couple of short
typing courses during my stay in Malawi as a Fulbright Fellow, conducting research for my dissertation. With the fellowship from Sara’s Wish, I will purchase some used iBook laptops (Macs get fewer viruses in Malawi), and as many keyboards as I can. I have found a few typing tutors online, but have yet to come across any blog or posting written by anyone who has taught a typing course in a digitally underdeveloped country. Does anyone have any good pointers to share?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Audrey permalink
    21 April 2008 9:06 pm

    Hi Kim
    No pointers I can give you personally but maybe you want to reach out to some social enterprises that conduct this kind of training? In cambodia, there is “Digital Divide Data” and they provide computer training for disenfranchised populations so they can get data entry jobs. Here is an article: http://www.digitaldividedata.com/Social_impact/Women_and_Development.asp
    If I find anything I’ll let u know!
    Good luck!

  2. Erica permalink
    23 April 2008 6:39 am

    While, I don’t have any pointers on typing teaching methods, I would suggest checking the technical support for iBook in Malawi. I have had a huge problem finding support here in Arusha for my Mac. It would be a shame if something simple broke and they retired the computer. There is an organization in Babati called Local Initiative Support Organization (LISO) that runs a rural computer class. I would suggest contacting their director, Walther de Nijs, at info@liso-tanzania.nl. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

