Skip to content

Two AIDS Orphans Start Health Clinic in Kenya

26 February 2009

NPR recently profiled two Kenyan brothers who started a health clinic in Western Kenya, where they’re from. Milton and Fred Ochieng’ attended  Dartmouth for undergrad before heading to medical school at Vanderbilt. Milton graduated last year and seems to be doing his residency at Wash U; brother Fred is still in medical school. They lost both parents to AIDS.

I don’t know where to begin with the links. There’s the brothers’ organization, Lwala Community Alliance. Then there’s also an organization called Lwala (Living with a life-long ambition) that raised money for the clinic. There’s a movie that profiles the brothers, entitled “Sons of Lwala”. There’s some Vanderbilt alumna’s blog about her experiences before and after the clinic opened in Lwala (she’s an American). These are all hits on google using just lwala in the search box.

I have to admit I was ready to roll my eyes at yet another heart-wrenching story about two AIDS orphans propelled by the efforts of eager college students to “save” a place in rural Africa. I haven’t watched “Sons of Lwala” yet, so I may have disdain for the project in the future, but from what I’ve seen thus far, the brothers are rather sincere and their clinic is serving a population that would otherwise travel a great distance to get care. To make it almost impossible for me to oppose their work, I read they connected to the clinic construction a project to protect a local spring and propose to expand their water and sanitation endeavors. As I found in rural Malawi, the primary concern for improving people’s lives was to improve access to clean water. Of course these guys knew that, they’re from rural Kenya.

Perhaps I’ll post again after watching the film. It looks good. Maybe I think that because I’m just a girl who wants to go home and do something good and I’m thus a bit envious of what these two have done at such a young age to give back to their community. 

HT: Kaiser Network RSS Feed

One Comment leave one →
  1. 5 March 2009 2:39 pm

    Thank you for posting about these brothers and this movie. I am trying to help AIDS orphans in Western Kenya through the sale of my 14 COWS jewelry line, so stories like this are inspiring to me. I will try to see the movie. I look forward to it.

    I have started a blog about my own efforts.
    14cows.blogspot.com

    Thank You,
    meeshka

Leave a Reply

