Skip to content

this week’s Malawi links

25 August 2009
tags: ,
by

A friend who shot a film in Malawi releases a teaser trailer.

Well, I’m not exactly sure that this is in Malawi, but I’ve seen plenty of footballs (soccer balls for the Americans) crafted from condoms whilst in Malawi.

A blogger/doctoral student ponders the public vs. private delivery of social services, with an anecdote about a trip to Kamuzu Central Hospital in Lilongwe.

Malawian economists are calling for the devaluation of the kwacha.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 August 2009 7:53 am

    Kim – I don’t suppose we ever met in Malawi? I was living in Lilongwe from 2006-2008.

    Your friends film looks interesting – I shot a film as well while I was there – but more from an ex-pat perspective:
    http://www.matthewcollin.com/film.htm

  2. 26 August 2009 9:54 am

    Matt – I have to say I always did what I could to avoid LLW (including hiding away at the oh-so-fabulous Kumbali Lodge)… so, unless you were ambling around Mchinji or Balaka, we probably didn’t cross paths. 😉

    Will have to watch your film — looks great!

Leave a Reply

