Skip to content

Course web sites: African Politics; AIDS in Africa

30 September 2010

I haven’t blogged since the International AIDS Conference in July. Disappointing, I know… but this whole teaching thing really gets in the way of doing other stuff. Of course, I like it. A lot. At least most days.

I’m teaching two courses: an introductory course on African Politics and a special topics course on the Comparative Responses to AIDS in Africa. Though Texas A&M has software for developing course web sites, it is not intuitive (and they’re considering switching in a year, so I saw no point investing time in learning about something that might soon not exist), so I went with just creating simple WordPress.com sites for each class. Mostly, I’m posting music videos that I show each day in the African Politics course. But, I think the best part about the course sites are the mandatory weekly discussion posts. Those posts demonstrate not just that the students are reading, but that they’re thinking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

