Skip to content

bleg: how to bundle a list for students to purchase course books online?

8 December 2011
by

I am not a fan of the TAMU bookstore for many reasons, but the most important is that I have yet to experience a start-of-term where all of my students had the ability to actually purchase the books necessary to complete the required readings.

I am looking for an alternative solution. I wanted to ask the blogosphere if anyone has recommendations on how to bundle a list of books online. Going to Amazon.com, I can create a wishlist, but I don’t want the books for myself and would hate for some student to accidentally purchase them and have them sent to me because they weren’t paying close attention. I thought Amazon would have a feature for this (I certainly cannot the first person that thought of this potential revenue stream), but even talking to someone on the phone there got me no leads.

Of course, if there’s a way I can do this that would support an independent bookstore, I would. My requirement in choosing a service is that the students will get their books quickly at no additional expense than the sum of list prices. Amazon is a nice option as it provides books at a discount and students likely already have accounts there enabling ease of purchase and shipping. I do not want to send the students to more than one web site to make their purchases, and these books are not rare, so should not pose much difficulty in sourcing.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 December 2011 10:04 pm

    Amazon has something called Listmania, where you can recommend a set of books or products based on some interest. You can create a “zombie survival kit” and put a bunch of things on the list that have links, etc. to the products. I use other folks’ lists for random stuff.

  2. 8 December 2011 10:08 pm

    I was quite happy with myself on Tuesday morning when the plane from DCA touched down at RDU: over the weekend, I had read about 150 pages of Crawford Young’s book. I had gotten into a good groove and was hoping to finish it before this coming weekend.

    Today, I realized that I had left the book in the seat-back pocket in front of me when exiting the plane. If that is not a Freudian slip, I don’t know what is.

  3. 8 December 2011 11:41 pm

    Listmania is the way to go.

  4. 9 December 2011 2:20 pm

    I typically just put up a list on my webpage: e.g., http://www.public.asu.edu/~jadams27/courses/101H/readings.html .
    Not an elegant solution, but seems to be helpful.

Leave a Reply

