Skip to content

this holiday season, a donation worth giving

17 December 2011

My friends know how crazy I can be about what charities I think we shouldn’t support, and they always follow up with a question asking what place I would send my money. These places are few and far between, and I often make a plea that you find some place in your local area. But, if you want to make a donation this holiday to a good cause, I kindly ask that you strongly consider Engineers Without Borders in Canada. This is from a post by one of the EWB crew:

We work on governance, on monitoring and learning. We work on developing and testing new ideas where old ideas aren’t working. We support partners in the sector on learning, on growing, on moving past the same approaches and the same mistakes. We stay flexible, stay committed, and work wherever we think we can make a real, meaningful, long-term difference.

This flexibility, this desire to work on real problems – this is what has kept me in Malawi for almost 3 years now. Well…that, and your support. Over the last 3 years I’ve received an immense amount of help from friends, family, and even strangers through this campaign. I can’t tell you how grateful I am. Thank you again for visiting this campaign once again in 2011/2012, and please email me (owenscott@ewb.ca) if you want more information on the work we’re doing and where your money is going. Massive love to you all.

If you want to get a sense of the kind of thoughtful approach that EWB is taking to development, watch this TED talk:

Donations can be made directly via a link on Owen’s post.

Leave a Reply

