Skip to content

spring semester study tips: a series

16 January 2012

"Spring Studying" by billerickson shared with CC license via Flickr

This semester I will use my African Politics course as a vehicle for sharing study tips with my students. This is the first in a series of posts about studying in college. I am not an expert (though I did graduate from college with more than one degree), but instead I hope to draw from whatever evidence-based research is out there on effective study/learning strategies for college students. I thought it would also be of interest to some of haba na haba’s followers. As per usual, feedback from readers is welcomed.

The lineup I have includes: how to read, how to take notes, how to study for an exam, how to do research, and how to be a better all-around student. If haba na haba readers have any links to useful resources (ideally evidence-based), please share them in the comments or send me an email.

The “spring semester study tips” series was inspired by Sophia Chua-Rubenfeld’s blog post on How to Study Like a Tiger Cub. I’ve also decided that instead of whining about things undergrads don’t know that I should contribute to the public good and try to teach them some useful strategies.

Leave a Reply

