Skip to content

making a move

7 April 2013
by
Woodcreek Park Bridge

Bridge, Woodcreek Park, College Station, TX. Taken by Kim Yi Dionne on 5 April 2013.

I’m leaving Texas. And this place. As of July 1, 2013, I will be an Assistant Professor of Government at Smith College. The position is in African Politics and is joint with the Five Colleges Consortium, which is home to an engaging African Studies Program.

There are certainly things I’m going to miss. And in a forthcoming post, I’ll be specific about the things in College Station that I really loved.

At the same time, I’m excited about what the future holds for me and my family. My husband will be taking an appointment at Amherst College (be on the lookout for a forthcoming post about dual career couples), my son has a guaranteed slot at the Smith College Center for Early Childhood Education, and my daughter will be at one of two fantastic elementary schools in Northampton, depending on where we end up living.

I thank haba na haba readers for sticking around through some thin posting as I’ve been busy with the new addition to our family, while also juggling job interviews (I’m also thinking of writing a post reflecting on my experience looking for jobs this year). I hope to be more active with writing here than I have been the last six months.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Terrance Edmond permalink
    7 April 2013 10:08 pm

    I’m about to cry. You have changed the way in which I think. Thank you for being my professor. Although I was never the perfect student, I learned a tremendous amount of things from you. Congratulations Dr.Kim!

    • 7 April 2013 10:12 pm

      Terrance – your comment is touching. I learned a lot from you, too! I’ll never forget what a great ambassador you were to the South African students who visited our class. Thank you for adding greatness to my Aggie experience.

Trackbacks

  1. things I’ll miss in College Station | haba na haba

Leave a Reply

